About Us

History of the Bank

The Bank of Marion was granted a charter on September 15, 1937 and opened for business on December 15th of that same year. The Bank was founded by 33 local individuals and over 70 years later it is still owned by the people of Williamson County. The Bank of Marion was founded by the people of Marion to serve the people of Marion. It continues with that tradition still today. The Bank of Marion is the only bank in Marion who has not been bought or sold. It is that tradition along with the ability to utilize the most current products and services that makes The Bank of Marion a truly unique place.

Since 1937, the Bank has grown from an institution with $62,000 in capital to today with over $32,000,000.00 in capital. With over $320,000,000 in total assets, it is the largest locally owned and operated bank in Williamson County today.

Press Release

The Bank of Marion                    First Southern Bank


Top Community Banks Join Forces for Strategic Merger

Southern Illinois      December 11, 2013

Midwest Community Bancshares, Inc., the holding company for The Bank of Marion and First Southern Bancshares, Inc., the holding company for First Southern Bank jointly announce today the signing of an agreement for a strategic merger to create one of the top community banking franchises in southern Illinois.

“The combination of our banks will result in one of the largest mergers between two community banks in southern Illinois with combined assets of over $600 million and 13 locations, with key market shares in Williamson, Jackson and Saline counties”, stated Ray Altmix, President and CEO of The Bank of Marion.

“We both strongly believe in the community banking model of high level customer service while providing the most current and efficient products and services for our customers”, said John Dosier, President and CEO of First Southern Bank.  “We look at southern Illinois as one region and feel that our vision of a larger network of southern Illinois owned, locally managed banks will enhance our opportunities to better serve our customers and our communities.”

“The merger will combine the best of both companies.  The proposed Board of Directors will include all current directors of both holding companies, with Dutch Doelitzsch serving as Chairman of the Board of the new company and bank boards, Ray Altmix as the Chief Executive Officer, and John Dosier as President.  We have great officers and employees at each bank and plan to retain everyone.  We will operate as First Southern Bank, a name that fits our new growth strategy and southern Illinois focus”, added Dutch Doelitzsch.

The merger is subject to shareholder and regulatory approval. Further information will become available upon completion of the proposed transaction.

For more information on this merger contact:
The Bank of Marion, Ray Altmix             618-997-4341     RayAltmix@bankofmarion.com
First Southern Bank, John Dosier           618-549-3621     John.dosier@firstsouthernbank.net


Raymond Altmix President & CEO
Robert Kincheloe Senior Vice-President & Senior Lender
Mitzi Calhoon Moore Senior Vice-President & CFO
Judy Batchelor Real Estate Loan Manager
Stacey Cobb Vice-President / Loan Operations Manager
Cindy Throgmorton Commercial Loan Officer
Tara Broy Vice-President / BSA Officer / Branch Coordinator
Mike Hopkins Vice-President / Commercial Loan Officer
Vicki Nalley Asst. VP / Asst. Cashier / Asst. Financial Officer
Adam Wells Asst. VP / Compliance Officer
Mary Ann Monroe Internal Auditor
Lisa Bloodworth Facility Manager (Tower Square)
Susan Reams Facility Manager (IL Centre)
Brenda Betz Assistant Cashier
Tracey Doss Facility Manager (Carrier Mills)
Pat Christopher IT Officer
Lisa Emling Investment Services Officer
Tricia Nigro  Facility Manager (Carbon) / Loan Officer
Gene Morris Loan Officer
Brian Voight Risk Management Officer

^return to top


Dennis (Dutch) Doelitzsch Chairman of the Board
Gene Watson Vice Chairman
Raymond Altmix  
John O'Keefe
Elaine Melby
Mick Cummins  
Jerry Ross Appointed Director
Thomas W.  Van Horn, Jr. Appointed Director
Harry L. Crisp II Chairman Emeritus

^return to top

Contact Information


Internet Banking Services
Sharon Sherertz
618-997-4341 x1280
Terri Beaubien
618-997-4341 x1402

Customer Service


(E-mail sent to the addresses listed on this page are not secure. Confidential information (i.e. account numbers) should not be included in e-mail communications to the Bank.)

^return to top